00 Shabd Samman 2022
Shabd Samman 2022

Respect for human values and the power of dreams, Shabd Samman is a platform created by AUF to recognize the work in preserving the ethos of our literature in the form of awards. In order to discharge its inevitable responsibility of eulogizing and immortalizing life-enriching tradition of the written word and to highlight the best literary work coming up in various Indian languages, Amar Ujala, being an Indian newspaper of Hindi language, has decided to institutionalize annual honors in six categories under the banner of SHABD SAMMAN (honoring the word). This initiative of AUF includes two highest honors, named AKASHDEEP, one for non- Hindi Indian languages and one for Hindi, for lifetime contribution in literature, each worth five lakh rupees. 

The other five, each worth rupees one lakh, also includes a special honor, named BHASHA BANDHU, for best translation between Indian languages and Hindi. This is for making bridges between languages of India.

More than 2000 pieces of work were judged by a panel of jury members comprising stalwart writers- Vishwanath Prasad Tiwari, Leeladhar Jagudi, Pankaj Bisht, Maitreyi Pushpa and Suraj Prakash. 

Shabd Samman’s highest honour ‘Akashdeep’ was given to renowned author Late Shri Shekhar Joshi for Hindi Language and renowned Indian academic and writer of Odia-language novels and stories Shrimati Pratibha Ray Non- Hindi language category (Odia).

In the Chhap- Kathetar category, Sudhir Chandra's collection 'Bhupen Khakhkhar -Ek Antrang Sansmaran' was selected. In the Chhap- Poetry category, the collection of Ponam Vasam’s ‘Machhliyan Gayengi Ek Din Pandumgeet’ and in the story category Chandan Pandey's book ' Vaidhanik Galp was given the award.

Under the Thaap category- for a first published book, Anushakti Singh's work ‘Sharmishtha’ was selected for the award. In Bhasha Bandhu category- for translation from one to another Indian language (Hindi) Ashutosh Garg was embellished with the award for his translation of The Last Girl (original English work of Shrimati Nadia Murad). 

Each awardee was presented with a cash reward along with a statue of Ganga, made by a famous sculpture: Shri Ram Sutar.



Related Articles: